History

Beaumont History Book


The Beaumont History Book was completed in 1985 by the Beaumont History Book Committee, under the auspices of St. Vital Senior Citizens’ Club, and covers the period from 1885 through 1960. This publication is also available in hard cover at the Bibliotheque de Beaumont Library.

In September 2006, the Beaumont History website was created, which is now available for viewing on the "School Links" page of the Ecole Secondaire Beaumont Composite High School web site. This website was a joint effort between a student, parent and teacher as a special school project. It is being hosted by the Black Gold School Division, who approved this project.

Beautifully situated and known for it’s picturesque church on the hill, the Town of Beaumont began as a French Colony in 1895. 10 acres of land was purchased in 1894 from the Hudson’s Bay Company and a founding resident donated twenty more acres. These 30 acres were the foundation to what became the hamlet of Beaumont. St. Vital Church was constructed and completed, in the Spring of 1895, on these 30 acres of land. In 1899, a group of 38 farmers formed an incorporated company called Compagne du Mouline de Beaumont Limitee (Harvest Company of Beaumont Ltd.) Beaumont moved into the 20th century firmly established as a community with an active commercial base whose social and spiritual life revolved around the church. St. Vital Church burned to the ground in 1918 and was rebuilt in 1919 at a cost of $30,000. Since the 1970s Beaumont has experienced phenomenal population growth. The economic driver is the housing industry. The Town experienced population growth rates as high as 38% in the 1978 to 1984 period. New housing starts continue to be strong coupled with a growing service sector. The result is a dynamic, vibrant community in which to live, work and play.

Le livre Beaumont : histoire de Beaumont et district, 1885-1960 fut complété en 1985 par le Comité du livre historique de Beaumont, sous l’égide du club d’âge d’or Saint-Vital. Le livre relié est disponible à la Bibliothèque de Beaumont Library.

Située dans un lieu magnifique et reconnue pour son église au caractère pittoresque bâtie sur la colline, la Ville de Beaumont fut établie en tant que colonie en 1895. En 1894, dix acres de terrain furent achetées de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson et un résident fondateur fit le don de vingt autres acres. Le hameau de Beaumont fut donc fondé sur ces 30 acres de terrain et, au printemps 1895, l’Église Saint-Vital fut construite à cet endroit. En 1899, un groupe de 38 fermiers établirent une compagnie constituée en personne morale, la Compagnie du moulin de Beaumont Limitée. Ainsi, c’est à titre de communauté bien établie que Beaumont fit son entrée dans le 20e siècle : jouissant d’une saine activité commerciale, ayant l’Église au cœur de sa vie spirituelle et sociale. En 1918, l’église Saint-Vital fut rasée par les flammes et elle fut reconstruite en 1919, au coût de 30 000 $.

Depuis les années 1970, la Ville de Beaumont a connu un accroissement de sa population phénoménal grâce, en majeure partie, à l’industrie du logement. En effet, de 1978 à 1984, Beaumont a enregistré des taux de croissance de population pas moins de 38 %. De nos jours, le développement résidentiel continue son essor et l’industrie des services est en pleine croissance. Ce qui fait de Beaumont une communauté vive et dynamique dans laquelle il fait bon de vivre, travailler et se divertir!